Vacation Tours of IrelandAn Independent Guide Check Availability

10 Day Ireland Tour: Overland Ireland Small Group Round the Island

4.9/5 331 Viator reviews From $3,917.02 per person10 days, 9 nightsNon-refundable

Sold and operated by Overland Ireland LTD. Booked and paid through Viator. We may earn a commission if you book through our link, at no extra cost to you.

This 10 day ireland tour from Overland Ireland runs a 10-day route, from Dublin down to Kinsale, out to Dingle and the Cliffs of Moher, up through Connemara, Donegal and Derry, and along the Causeway Coast to Belfast before returning to the capital. It costs $3,917.02 per person, holds the group to 15, and includes a long list of admissions and activities plus 9 nights of accommodation with breakfast. One night is spent in Lough Eske Castle. The trade-off is strict: all sales are final and no refund is available. This page sets out the day by day route, what the price covers and who should look at a different listing among the vacation tours of Ireland we track.

Small-group minibus beside Irish coastal cliffs on a 10-day Ireland vacation tour from Dublin
4.9★331 reviews
$3,917.02per person
10 days, 9 nightsduration
Nonecancellation
Check Availability

About This Tour

Overland Ireland LTD runs this 10-day small-group tour of Ireland from Dublin on air-conditioned Mercedes Sprinter minibuses, with driving time averaging 2.5 hours per day. The route covers Donegal, Northern Ireland, Sligo, Galway, Clare, Kerry and Cork, ending with the Titanic Experience in Belfast before the return to Dublin.

Nine nights are spent in local boutique hotels and guesthouses chosen by the operator, including a night at Lough Eske Castle in Donegal. A professional qualified Irish tour guide travels with the group plus other local guides.

Price
$3,917.02 per person for 10 days and 9 nights, breakfast included from day 2. A solo traveller supplement applies for a private en-suite room, amount not stated.
Length
10 days, 9 nights, starting and ending in Dublin. Driving averages 2.5 hours per day.
Start point and time
The listing does not state a meeting point or departure time. Hotel pickup in Dublin is not included.
Group size and guide
Up to 15 passengers, with a professional qualified Irish tour guide plus local guides. Guide language is English.
Included
9 nights of accommodation with breakfast, transport, and a long list of admissions and activities from the Rock of Cashel and Blarney Castle to the Giant's Causeway, Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge, Slieve League, Kylemore Abbey, the Titanic Experience, the Shannon ferry and a sheepdog demonstration.
Cancellation
All sales are final, no refund is available for cancellations. If an activity is cancelled for weather, no refund is provided either.
Quick answer Price, route and the no-refund rule

This 10 day ireland tour costs $3,917.02 per person for 10 days and 9 nights in a group of up to 15, with breakfast, a long list of admissions and a castle night included.

Key takeaways

  • It is one of the two longest routes on the comparison of tours of Ireland, reaching Donegal, Derry and Belfast as well as Kerry and Clare.
  • The biggest catch is money back: all sales are final, so buy travel insurance separately.
  • If a refund option matters, the 10-Day Wild Irish Experience allows free cancellation up to 24 hours before and costs $3,301.
  • If price matters more than group size, the 6-Day All Ireland Tour covers much of the same ground from $1,023.66 for a hostel dorm bed in a coach of up to 56.

What the Price Actually Covers

The $3,917.02 per person buys transport, 9 nights of accommodation, breakfast on days 2 to 10 and a long list of admissions. Lunch, dinner and gratuities are on you.

What Is Included

The listing includes Cliffs of Moher entrance, the Giant's Causeway experience, the Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge, Ross Castle, Slieve League, the Rock of Cashel, Blarney Castle, Kylemore Abbey and Gardens, an Ardara Distillery tour and tasting, a Derry walking tour, the Titanic Experience, the Shannon ferry crossing, a ferry to Inis Oírr with a Cliffs of Moher cruise, and a sheepdog demonstration. Accommodation is 9 nights in local boutique hotels and guesthouses chosen by the operator, with one night in Lough Eske Castle. Breakfast is included, lunch and dinner are not.

Each traveller may bring 1 suitcase of up to 65 liters and 1 carry-on bag.

What You Pay on the Way

Budget separately for lunch and dinner on all 10 days, drinks unless specified, gratuities, and any accommodation before or after the tour in Dublin, since the tour starts and ends there and hotel pickup is not included. Travel insurance is not included but the operator recommends it, which matters here because there is no refund once booked. A solo traveller wanting a private en-suite room pays a supplement, amount not stated, so ask at booking.

A tip of €2 to €5 a day for guides on multi-day tours is the norm listed by Irish Road Trip, and about 10 percent in a table-service restaurant. Tell the operator about dietary requirements at booking. Pack light layers, a raincoat and comfortable walking shoes.

LineIn the priceNotes
Tour price$3,917.02 per person10 days, 9 nights, max 15 passengers
Accommodation9 nights, boutique hotels and guesthousesOne night in Lough Eske Castle, solo supplement for a private en-suite room, amount not stated
MealsBreakfast days 2 to 10Lunch and dinner excluded, budget for all 10 days
Admissions and activities18 inclusionsRock of Cashel, Blarney Castle, Cliffs of Moher, Giant's Causeway, Titanic Experience and more
GratuitiesNo€€€2 to €5 a day for the guide is the listed norm
CancellationNoAll sales are final, buy travel insurance
WeatherNo refundIf an activity is cancelled for weather no refund is provided

Sources: Met Eireann and Irish Road Trip tipping guide.

Slieve League sea cliffs in County Donegal on a 10-day Ireland tour

The Slieve League sea cliffs seen from the coast road in County Donegal. Photo: Gary Miotla, CC BY 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Day by Day

The listing names the stops and the hotel for each night. Here is what each day contains and one thing worth knowing about a place on the route.

Day 1: Dublin to Rock of Cashel to Blarney to Kinsale

The tour leaves Dublin and heads south through Tipperary to the Rock of Cashel, the traditional seat of the kings of Munster, where the round tower stands about 28 m high and Cormac's Chapel dates from 1127 to 1134. Admission is in the price. Next comes Blarney Castle in County Cork, whose current keep dates from 1446, for the Blarney Stone and the gardens.

The day ends in Kinsale, the southern end of the 2,500 km Wild Atlantic Way, a food town of about 5,991 people. Overnight at the Kinsale Hotel. Breakfast is not included on day 1.

Day 2: Kinsale to Kenmare to Killarney National Park to Dingle

The route west passes Kenmare, about 32 km from Killarney at the junction of the Iveragh and Beara peninsulas, then crosses Killarney National Park with stops at Moll's Gap and Ladies View. The park was Ireland's first national park and holds about 900 red deer of the native Irish subspecies, the only remaining wild herd in the country. The listing includes entry to Ross Castle, a 15th-century fortress on Lough Leane.

The night is spent at Dingle Marina Lodge, the first of two nights in Dingle.

Day 3: Slea Head Drive

The guide drives the Slea Head loop from Dingle town, a route that passes Ventry Beach, beehive huts and Gallarus Oratory, with a full view of the Blasket Islands from Slea Head. The Blaskets have been uninhabited since the 1950s. Dunmore Head at the end of the peninsula is the westernmost point of mainland Ireland, and the west of the peninsula is a Gaeltacht where road signs are Irish only.

The afternoon is free in Dingle and you sleep at Dingle Marina Lodge again, so no repacking.

Day 4: Dingle to County Clare

The day starts over the Connor Pass, one of Ireland's highest mountain routes, then past Castlegregory to a traditional sheepdog demonstration, which is one of the listed inclusions. On departures leaving Dublin on a Tuesday the demonstration moves to Atlantic Sheepdogs near Grange in County Sligo on day 7 instead, and the Dingle morning becomes a cookery demonstration at the Dingle Cookery School with scones. The group crosses the River Shannon by ferry, on a river 360.5 km long, then sees the Burren's limestone, about 325 million years old, and the Cliffs of Moher, which reach 214 m near O'Brien's Tower.

Overnight at Doolin Inn, though the listing text says you stay in either Doolin or Ennistymon. Doolin is known for nightly traditional music and sits about 4 miles from the cliffs.

Day 5: County Clare to Galway

A ferry takes the group to Inis Oírr, the smallest of the three Aran Islands, which together had 1,347 residents in 2022, mostly Irish speakers. You get white-sand beaches and ancient ruins on the island, then a Cliffs of Moher cruise from the sea on the way back, both in the price. The route runs through the Burren again, past its roughly 70 megalithic tombs, before ending in Galway, the fourth most populous city in the Republic with 85,910 residents in 2022.

Overnight at the Hyde Hotel.

Day 6: Galway to Westport

The morning is Galway city, with an optional Welcome to Galway walking tour or free time around the Latin Quarter. Then into Connemara, the part of County Galway west of Lough Corrib that holds the Twelve Bens mountains. The main stop is Kylemore Abbey and Gardens, included in the price, built from 1867 as a private home and bought by Irish Benedictine nuns in 1920, with a Victorian walled garden laid out in 1870.

The day ends in Westport on Clew Bay. Overnight at the Wyatt Hotel.

Day 7: Westport to the Hills of Donegal

Morning free time in Westport, home to Westport House, then north through County Sligo past Benbulben, the flat-topped mountain tied to the legend of Diarmuid and Gráinne. The day finishes at Lough Eske Castle outside Donegal town, the castle night that gives this tour its badge. You sleep in the castle itself, surrounded by woodland and the lake.

On Tuesday departures the sheepdog demonstration happens at Atlantic Sheepdogs near Grange on this leg. Overnight at Lough Eske Castle.

Day 8: Donegal to Derry

The morning is Slieve League, among the highest sea cliffs in Europe and included in the price, then the Glengesh Pass. Next is the Ardara Distillery for a whiskey tour and tasting, also included. In the afternoon the tour crosses into Northern Ireland, where the currency is the pound sterling, and reaches Derry for a guided walking tour of the 17th-century walls, built between 1613 and 1619 and about one mile around, covering the Troubles as well.

Overnight at the Shipquay Hotel.

Day 9: Derry to Belfast

The day follows the Causeway Coastal Route to the Giant's Causeway, where about 40,000 basalt columns formed 50 to 60 million years ago and the tallest reach about 12 m. The Causeway experience is included. Then the Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge, 20 m long and 30 m above the rocks, included but weather dependent, and a view of Dunluce Castle on its basalt outcrop.

The evening is in Belfast, capital of Northern Ireland with 351,927 residents, with a stroll through the Cathedral Quarter. Overnight at the Ten Square Hotel.

Day 10: Belfast to Dublin

A free morning in Belfast, then the included Titanic Experience at Titanic Belfast, which opened in 2012 on the old Harland and Wolff shipyard and drew 953,554 visitors, the most visited attraction in Northern Ireland. In the afternoon the minibus runs south to Dublin, where the tour ends and the guide shares tips if you are staying on. Remember that the UK requires an ETA for visitors who need one to enter Northern Ireland, even arriving from the Republic, and each traveller including children needs their own.

Who This Tour Rules Out

This is one of the longest and most expensive listings we track, and the terms are strict. Some travellers should book a different tour.

If You Might Need to Cancel

All sales are final. No refund is available for cancellations at any point, and if weather cancels an activity there is no refund for that either. The fix is to buy travel insurance when you book, which the operator recommends.

If you want a built-in exit, the 10-Day Wild Irish Experience from Irish Experience Tours offers free cancellation up to 24 hours before departure at $3,301, $616.02 less.

If the Price Is Too High

At $3,917.02 this costs nearly four times the 6-Day All Ireland Tour from Paddywagon at $1,023.66. That coach tour reaches Donegal, Derry, Belfast and the Causeway Coast as well, in a group of up to 56, though at the from price you get a shared hostel dorm bed and fewer admissions. For the south west only, the 5-Day South West Ireland Tour from Rabbie's costs from $1,464.67 with free cancellation 21 days out.

Ages, Fitness and Access

The tour is priced for ages 12 to 99, so it rules out families with younger children. It is listed as suitable for all fitness levels with free time built in, but a 10-day coach trip still means clifftop walking at the Cliffs of Moher and Slieve League and uneven ground at the Giant's Causeway. The listing asks travellers to report any health issues that might limit participation so alternatives can be arranged.

No wheelchair access is stated. The group caps at 15, which is the point of a small-group tour, but if you want even fewer people the 7-Day Ireland Tour from the same operator caps at 12 and costs $2,823.90.

Solo Travellers and Packers

Solo travellers pay a supplement for a private en-suite room, amount not stated, so the from price assumes shared occupancy. Baggage is limited to 1 suitcase of up to 65 liters and 1 carry-on bag per traveller. Days are full, driving averages 2.5 hours, and there is no hotel pickup in Dublin, so plan to reach the start point yourself.

Lough Eske in County Donegal on a vacation tours of Ireland route

Lough Eske near Donegal town, with hills across the water. Photo: Mary McGuire, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Getting to the Start and Making a Trip of It

The listing names no meeting point or departure time, so confirm both with the operator after booking. The tour starts and ends in Dublin, and hotel pickup is not included.

Reaching Dublin

Dublin Airport is 7 km north of the city centre. Dublin Bus routes 16 and 41 cost €2 to €3.30 and take 30 to 50 minutes, with route 41 running around the clock. Aircoach route 700 costs about €8 to €10 for 30 to 40 minutes, and Dublin Express runs 4am to 12:30am for about €9.

A taxi into the centre costs roughly €30 to €45 and takes 20 to 30 minutes. Arrive in Dublin at least the night before, since pre-tour accommodation is not included and day 1 has no breakfast either.

Before or After the Tour

If you have a spare day in Dublin before departure, day tours cover the sights without a car. The Cliffs of Moher Tour from Dublin is a 13-hour day at $87, but you would see the cliffs again on day 4 of this tour, so the Glendalough and Kilkenny Tour at $50 or the Blarney Castle Tour from Dublin at $95 overlap less. After the tour, days 8 to 10 put you in Northern Ireland, where the currency is pounds sterling rather than euros.

Visitors who need a UK ETA must hold one to enter Northern Ireland even from the Republic, each traveller needs their own, and GOV.UK says decisions usually arrive within one day. British and Irish citizens are exempt.

Sources: TCD airport guide and ireland.com ETA advice

Route at a Glance

Ten days, eight different named hotels, about 2.5 hours of driving a day on average.

  1. Day 1

    Dublin to Kinsale via Cashel and Blarney

    Rock of Cashel and Blarney Castle, both included, then the harbour town of Kinsale. Overnight at the Kinsale Hotel. No breakfast today.

  2. Day 2

    Kinsale to Dingle

    Kenmare, Killarney National Park with Moll's Gap and Ladies View, and included entry to Ross Castle. Overnight at Dingle Marina Lodge.

  3. Day 3

    Slea Head Drive

    The Dingle Peninsula loop with Atlantic viewpoints and beehive huts, then a free afternoon in Dingle. Second night at Dingle Marina Lodge.

  4. Day 4

    Dingle to County Clare

    Connor Pass, a sheepdog demonstration, the Shannon ferry, the Burren and the Cliffs of Moher. Overnight at Doolin Inn.

  5. Day 5

    County Clare to Galway

    Ferry to Inis Oírr and a Cliffs of Moher cruise, both included, then on to Galway city. Overnight at the Hyde Hotel.

  6. Day 6

    Galway to Westport

    Galway city morning with an optional walking tour, then Connemara and included entry to Kylemore Abbey and Gardens. Overnight at the Wyatt Hotel.

  7. Day 7

    Westport to Donegal

    Free morning in Westport, past Benbulben in Sligo, ending at Lough Eske Castle for the castle night.

  8. Day 8

    Donegal to Derry

    Included Slieve League cliffs, the Glengesh Pass and the Ardara Distillery tasting, then into Northern Ireland for the Derry walking tour. Overnight at the Shipquay Hotel.

  9. Day 9

    Derry to Belfast

    The Causeway Coastal Route with the included Giant's Causeway experience and Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge, plus Dunluce Castle views. Overnight at the Ten Square Hotel.

  10. Day 10

    Belfast to Dublin

    Free morning in Belfast, the included Titanic Experience, then the drive south to Dublin where the tour ends.

What Works and What Does Not

The honest case for and against this listing against the others we compare.

What we genuinely like

  • The route is one of the two longest listed here, covering Donegal, Derry, Belfast, Galway, Clare, Kerry and Cork in one booking.
  • A long list of admissions and activities is included, from Blarney Castle to the Titanic Experience, so on-the-day costs are mostly meals and tips.
  • Groups cap at 15 on a Mercedes Sprinter, and driving averages just 2.5 hours a day over 10 days.
  • A night in Lough Eske Castle and 9 nights of boutique accommodation with breakfast are in the price.
  • Rating of 4.9 from 331 reviews on Viator and Tripadvisor.

The honest downsides

  • All sales are final. No refund at all, and no refund if weather cancels an activity, so travel insurance is essential.
  • At $3,917.02 per person it is the dearest listing we track, and the solo supplement amount is not stated in advance.
  • Lunch and dinner are not included on any of the 10 days, and day 1 has no breakfast either.
  • No meeting point, departure time or hotel pickup is stated, so you must confirm logistics with the operator.

Who it's NOT for: Not for travellers who may need to cancel, families with children under 12, or anyone who can get most of the same route for about a quarter of the price on the Paddywagon coach tour.

Questions About This Tour

How much does this 10 day ireland tour cost?

$3,917.02 per person for 10 days and 9 nights, including accommodation with breakfast, transport and a long list of admissions and activities. A solo supplement applies for a private en-suite room, amount not stated. See how it compares on the Ireland vacation tours table.

Is there any cancellation or refund on this tour?

No. All sales are final and no refund is available for cancellations, and if weather cancels an activity no refund is provided for that either. Buy travel insurance at booking, or look at the 10-Day Wild Irish Experience which refunds to 24 hours before departure.

Where does the tour start and is hotel pickup included?

The listing states no meeting point or departure time and hotel pickup is not included, so confirm the start details with the operator. You will need to arrange your own transfer from Dublin Airport, where buses cost €2 to €3.30 and a taxi about €30 to €45 into the centre. Compare start points across tours of Ireland before booking.

Which hotels do you stay in?

Nine nights in boutique hotels and guesthouses chosen by the operator, with named stops at the Kinsale Hotel, Dingle Marina Lodge twice, Doolin Inn, the Hyde Hotel in Galway, the Wyatt Hotel in Westport, Lough Eske Castle, the Shipquay Hotel in Derry and the Ten Square Hotel in Belfast. The 7-Day Ireland Tour from the same operator uses similar accommodation over a shorter route.

What meals are included?

Breakfast only, from day 2 onward. Lunch and dinner, and drinks unless specified, are excluded, and there is no breakfast on day 1. Budget for every other meal across 10 days. Tip about 10 percent in table-service restaurants, and €2 to €5 a day for the guide. The 6-Day All Ireland Tour has the same breakfast-only arrangement at a lower price.

Do I need a visa or ETA for the Northern Ireland part?

The tour enters Northern Ireland on days 8 to 10, where the currency is pounds sterling. Visitors who need a UK ETA must hold one even if they arrive via the Republic of Ireland, and each traveller including children needs their own. British and Irish citizens do not need one. See the notes on crossing into Northern Ireland.

Is the group really small and who is the guide?

The group caps at 15 passengers on an air-conditioned Mercedes Sprinter, with a professional qualified Irish tour guide plus other local guides. Driving averages 2.5 hours a day. If you want fewer people still, the 7-Day Ireland Tour caps at 12.

Ten days, 18 inclusions and a castle night make this the fullest route from Dublin if the no-refund terms do not put you off.

All sales are final with no refund available for cancellations, so arrange travel insurance when you book.

Check Availability

Prices, availability and terms are set by the operator and confirmed at checkout.

We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure

From $3,917.02 per person Check Availability